Christingle – Meeting Other Christian Singles

A friend from church asked some of us to bring in some biscuits (cookies) to help support Christingle at church several weeks ago. She also asked for volunteers to help set up for the service as well.

Since we live so close to the church, I thought I could make a jog out of it and help do some set up. On a quiet Sunday afternoon, it looked as if no one had seen a person go for a run. Mostly strange men stared at me for what I thought was a laugh fest, since I heard them laughing behind me as I passed them at a bus stop. I knew I was out of shape, but really, was I that out of shape?

Anyway, I thought Christingle was a Christian gathering for single people to meet in Cyprus, like eHarmony but in person. Oh boy, was I wrong. There weren’t 20 or 30-somethings mingling in the church courtyard, but rather tweens hanging out, some in their school uniforms, for some sort of church service/performance.

We set up and got the cookies/biscuits/chips ready. By the time we had finished, I was ready to head back home and have dinner with the family. I didn’t mention to the ladies at church what I thought Christingle was until the following Sunday. We all had a good laugh after church that day.

I had to look it up online to find out. And here you go. Christingle is an object that children make, typically out of orange and other fruits, to represent the earth and four seasons during the season of Advent.

I learn something everyday in Cyprus.

Leave a Reply

