Recipe: The Results of Making Kimchi/Kimchee (Part II)

So I made my first attempt at kimchee. Here are some pics of my first go at kimchee fermentation.

I went to the local grocery store and picked everything but the red pepper flakes.

I brined the napa cabbage as instructed in the blog: http://www.beyondkimchee.com/easy-cabbage-kimchi/.  Except, I didn’t have any measuring cups.  Turned out I had to improvise with existing empty water bottles to get a general idea of my measurements.

I started with garlic cloves, ginger, and onions, thinking I would be able to use a small blender to mince.

However, to my dismay, I was using a frother not a handheld blender.

So I ended up chopping my little heart out to get to this:

I read that I could use regular old sticky rice to make my paste, but without a blender, it proved quite difficult to chop sticky rice with a knife. So I mashed it with a spoon instead.

By this time, I had spent my entire afternoon during Linus’ afternoon nap to make the kimchee sauce.  So I had to take a break, wake up Linus, and pick up Piano Man from school.

Once we got back, while the kids were eating their snack, I had to wash and rinse and squeeze the brining solution three times (as recommended by the blog).  But I got tired and lazy, so I tried to squeeze the brining solution only two times. My hands could barely squeeze anymore salt water out of the cabbage.  I was left with this:

So I added fish sauce, instead making an anchovy based solution to the kimchee paste mixture. (Also, I couldn’t find any anchovies at the local store.) And what were my results? See for yourself.

Now the question: Did it taste like kimchee?

Well, yes but very salty.  The http://www.beyondkimchee.com blogger said that it should be overly salty at the beginning.  Boy, am I glad that I waited for a day of the fermentation to work through the kimchee.

Lessons Learned:

  1. Wait a day before writing the kimchee off.
  2. Use a blender, not a frother to mince veggies.
  3. Get Prof to squeeze all the salt water brining solution out of the napa cabbage.
  4. Buy some measuring cups.

Number 4 is particularly important. I haven’t baked cookies, brownies, cakes, etc. since our move.  So perhaps this will get me to bake something that the kids might enjoy in the future.  I just need to learn how to work the oven.

I am sure this won’t be the last time I make kimchee. Prof says, it can only get better. I hope he’s right.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: The Results of Making Kimchi/Kimchee (Part II)

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Bulgogi/Kalbi (Korean BBQ) | The Seoul of Cyprus

Leave a Reply

