Agia Napa, Nissi Beach

I remember the first time I went to the beach. It was one of the most memorable times because my mom and dad got to take a rare day off of work together. I thought the ocean waters in Galveston Bay were the coolest thing ever because it was so big and far for a little kindergartner to see.

(Source: http://www.sophiadembling.com/uploaded_images/galveston-beach-793153.JPG)

My dad said something to this effect about the ocean water, “You know. There are oceans that are crystal clear blue. So blue and clean you can see your feet at the bottom.”

Well, the water wasn’t so blue, clear, or clean, since I never saw my feet at the bottom of the shallow, murky, brown water. I thought all oceans were like this, since this was all I knew as a child.

As I got older, I had the privilege to walk the sandy beaches of Normandy, the Pacific waters in LA and Hi, and also the fresh waters iin the Midwest. But nothing prepared me for this.

Once we parked, which we were able to park for free at a nearby resort, we walked down the sandy path towards the waters. Nothing but tall grass and trees guided our path until that brief moment when the tree line opened for a split second and showed us the incredibly light blue waters at Nissi beach. My first reaction was an immediate, “wow,” under my breath.

Leave a Reply

